The M100 Sanssouci Media Award will be conferred within the context of a gala evening. This symbolic prize should be seen as “Prize of the European Press”. The M100 advisory board accompanying the whole project also acts as jury and nominates the recipient of the prize.
It honours personalities who, through his or her work has left their mark on Europe and in the world. The award reflects their service to the safeguarding of freedom of expression and the deepening of democracy as well as their outstanding achievements in promoting European understanding and communication.

Previous laureates include:
2005: Lord Norman Foster, architect
2006: Dr. Bernard Kouchner, founder of the organisation "Doctors without borders" and former French Foreign Minister 
2007: Bob Geldof KBE, musician, activist and founder of Africa Live AID
2008: Ingrid Betancourt, Franco-Colombian politician 
2009: Hans-Dietrich Genscher, former German foreign minister 
2010: Kurt Westergaard, Danish cartoonist 
2011: Michael Anti, Chinese journalist and blogger, and Lord Weidenfeld (Honorary Award)
2012: Mario Draghi, ECB President
2013: Erdem Gündüz, Turkish dancer and choreographer (the standing man from Taksim Square)
2014: Vitali Klitschko, Mayor of Kiev, and YanukovychLeaks, Ukrainian activist group (Special Award)
2015: Charlie Hebdo, French satirical magazine
2016: Roberto Saviano, Italian author and journalist

Members of the Jury

Stefan Aust
Publisher Die WeltN24, Berlin

Dr. Hugo Bütler
Chairman, Landis & Gyr Cultural Foundation, Zurich

Stephan-Andreas Casdorff
Editor-in-Chief, Der Tagesspiegel, Berlin

Ulrich Deppendorf
Former Director, ARD capital Berlin studio, Berlin

Kai Diekmann
former Editorial Director, BILD Group, Berlin

Prof. Ernst Elitz
Founding Director of Deutschlandradio, Berlin

Jann Jakobs
Lord Mayor, State Capital Potsdam

Baroness Helena Kennedy QC
Barrister, Human Rights Expert, London

Roger Köppel
Publisher and Editor-in-Chief, Weltwoche, Zurich

Christoph Lanz
Former Director of Television, DW-TV, Berlin

Giovanni di Lorenzo
Editor-in-Chief, Die Zeit, Hamburg

Mathias Müller von Blumencron
Editor-in-Chief digital media, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Frankfurt

Dr. Christian Rainer
Publisher and Editor-in-Chief, Profil, Vienna

Dr. Klaus Rost
Former Editor-in-chief, Märkische Allgemeine Zeitung, Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Rachel Salamander
Literary Ccientist, Bookstore Entrepreneur, Journalist

Sabine Schicketanz
Editor-in-Chief, Potsdamer Neuest Nachrichten

S.D. Karl zu Schwarzenberg
Former Foreign Minister of Czech Republic, Vienna

Louis Schweitzer
Chairman Le Monde and Renault, Paris

Andrea Seibel
Head of Forum, Die WeltN24, Berlin

Dr. Sylke Tempel
Editor-in-Chief, Internationale Politik and Berlin Policy Journal, Berlin

Dr. Uwe Vorkötter
Editor-in-chief, HORIZONT Group, Deutscher Fachverlag GmbH, Frankfurt/M.

  • 2005_foster.jpg
  • 2006_koucher.jpg
  • 2007_geldorf.jpg
  • 2008_betancourt.jpg
  • 2009_genscher.jpg
  • 2010_westergaard.jpg
  • 2011_anti.jpg
  • 2012_draghi.jpg
  • 2013_ErdemGuenduez.jpg
  • 2014_Klitschko.jpg
  • 2014_YanukovychLeaks.jpg
  • 2015_Charlie_Hebdo.jpg
  • 2016_Saviano.jpg